Who killed the King? 

This is an adaptation of a script we used in Primary School. I couldn’t find a copy of the original but I remembered the gist of it so wrote my own version. It’s a super drama to think through the motivations of the main players in the Easter Story…

(Those of you who know the old poem “Who killed Cock Robin?” will recognise the inspiration for the format of this).

  
Who killed the king?

 

Everybody: Who killed the King?

 

“I” said the guard

“I set to work with nail and spear,

This so-called king I did not fear!

I killed the King.”

 

Everybody: Who killed the King?

 

“It was me”, said Judas.

“It was all above board,

I was paid a good price to betray my Lord.

I killed the King.”

 

Everybody: Who killed the King?

 

“We Pharisees did!

We were jealous and so, with our lies and deceit,

We made the crowd angry and achieved this great feat.

We killed the King.”

 

Everybody: Who killed the King?

 

“We” said the crowd,

“With our cries and demands,

We wanted Him dead and tied Pilate’s hands,

We killed the King.”

 

Everybody: Who killed the King?

 

“It was not I”

Said Pilate in fear

“I washed my hands,

And did not hear!

I did not kill the King!”

 

Everybody: Who killed the King?

 

“We” says the World.

“Because of His love,

He came to die for us from Heaven above.

We killed the King.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

